Disney Style Diary: Disney Animation Studios

Animation 2

During August Maison Mouse editor Kiki spent a magical month in California and in this week-long Disney Style Diary series, she takes us through her Disney-inspired wardrobe choices. Today’s outfit: a day at the Walt Disney Animation Studios.

As you drive through Burbank in California, where most of the major film studios are located, you start to see little clues that you’re approaching the Walt Disney Animation Studios. Hidden Mickeys on fences. Traffic cones decorated with stars. And then, finally, the giant blue sorcerer hat sitting a-top the building, tells you you’re home.

I had been invited to the Studios to cover the launch of Disney’s new Animation app so I knew I had to dress professionally (taking into account the seriously laid back So-Cal style). But going to a place where so many of my childhood memories were created, I also knew I had to inject a little bit of Disney magic into my outfit in homage to my surroundings (since 1995 all Disney animated feature films have been made in this building, including Pocahontas, Princess and the Frog, Lilo and Stitch and the upcoming Frozen) .

Animation 1

The starting point for my ‘Disney at the office’ outfit was my Schumacher Minnie Mouse top. The monochrome colors and subtle sketch of Minnie on the front made it perfect for a trip to the Studios, channeling a Disney vibe without looking like (too much of) a crazed fan. To let the top do the talking I went for a plain pleated denim skirt, from So-Cal brand Juicy Couture, and my treasured Jimmy Choo for H&M gladiator sandals (sandals in an office? Well, it is California).

Despite achieving the understated Disney look I was going for, I felt it still needed a little something extra so I added my LeSportSac x It’s a Small World bag from the Holland collection, as it matched the top tonally, and threw on my Gogo Philip for Claire’s Accessories Mickey Mouse necklace (again, super subtle since it’s just Mickey’s silhouette in silver with a heart in the middle).

Et voilà! Although I have to admit, when I saw Olaf from Frozen in reception rocking the grass skirt I did feel a little over-dressed. Did you know he dances, by the way?

Animation 3

Top: Dorothee Schumacher | Skirt: Juicy Couture | Necklace: Gogo Philip for Claire’s Accessories | Bag: LeSportSac | Sandals: Jimmy Choo for H&M

Check out more pictures of the Studios below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

