Letter from the Editor: Disney Dreaming in London Town

1-DonaldMoose

Hi guys! It’s Bank Holiday weekend here in the UK so I took a few days out to get my life in order and enjoy the sunshine, which meant there was no blog post on Friday – sorry about that!

Even though I wasn’t blogging for a couple of days I still managed to get my daily dose of Disney in other ways: art galleries, cake and, of course, clothes! Check out the pictures below to see what I mean…

I am also thrilled to announce that I’ve now booked my flights to California for the summer, where Maison Mouse will be reporting from San Diego Comic Con in July and Disney’s D23 Expo in August to ensure y’all are up to date with the latest Disney fashion happenings! If you’re attending either one definitely let me know (especially if you’re coming in costume!)

And be sure to check back soon because we have something very exciting coming up on the site and it involves goodies for you guys!

Hope everyone had a magical weekend!

Kiki xx

Roy Lichtenstein Tate

On Saturday I visited an exhibition of pop artist Roy Lichtenstein’s works at the Tate Modern gallery in London. Lichtenstein is most famous for his paintings of comic strips so I was thrilled but not surprised to see this Mickey and Donald painting (above) on display, since Disney is such an integral part of Americana and pop art.

1-Snow White Forever 21

I also spent some time sorting out my closet (one of two, eek) and found this super fun Snow White shirt from Forever 21 that my friend bought me last summer. I haven’t worn it in ages but will definitely be rocking it at Disneyland in August!

1-Amirah Kassem Flour Shop

Chocolate always tastes better when it’s shaped like stuff and cake always tastes better when it’s shaped like Mickey! Over the weekend I read this fab interview with New York fashionista-turned-baker Amirah Kassem (above). She runs Flour Shop, making the most outlandish edible treats and, unsurprisingly, is a big Disney fan! Check out a snippet of the interview and one of her awesome Mickey cakes below.

Flour Shop Mickey Cake

You’ve been making treats for everyone from us to Vogue. Who’s your dream client? What would you want to make for them?
Without a doubt, DISNEY! I am obsessed with Walt’s ideas and anything and everything Disney. I don’t even know where to begin. I could recreate their entire theme park in cake form, I know the Disneyland map better than the New York City subway! I’ve also always wanted to replace the invisible cookies in Minnie Mouse’s house with my own—maybe I’ll sneak some in this year.

Dear Disney, please commission Amirah to recreate the park in cake form! I solemnly promise there won’t be a crumb left once I’m done with it.

Cover photo of Minnie and Mickey brownies taken from www.flourshop.com

Leave a Reply

