Disney Style Diary: Kermit the Frog at D23 Expo

Kermit 1

Maison Mouse editor Kiki spent a magical month in California this August and in this Disney Style Diary series, she takes us through her fairytale-inspired wardrobe choices during her trip. Today’s outfit: a day at the D23 Expo.

It started with a necklace. A bright green, frog-shaped necklace that dangled from my neck to my waist.

In 2011, in celebration of The Muppets film, nOir Jewelry created a Muppet-themed jewelry range. nOir are one of my favorite brands: they make the cutest, quirkiest pop culture jewelry and have previously collaborated with Disney on a Pirates of the Caribbean line. But the Muppets collection was full of serious statement pieces and it wasn’t cheap. Given that I didn’t have anywhere to make that kind of statement, I merely admired from afar.

???????????????????????????????

Until, some months before the D23 Expo, I saw one Kermit necklace left on e-tailer Yoox.com. And it was on sale. And there was only one. So throwing caution to the wind (i.e. that I didn’t have anything to wear with it or anywhere to wear it) I ordered the necklace. Which proved fortuitous, not only because it was adorable but because very soon after, Disney announced a Muppets sequel, Muppets Most Wanted, which is out in 2014. So now I would definitely have somewhere to wear it!

But I couldn’t wait a year so I decided to throw together a little something for the D23 Expo. At this point I must emphasize that I still had some qualms about taking sartorial inspiration from an amphibian and since my closet is more ‘princess‘ than ‘frog’ in terms of color, I would have to buy an entire outfit to match the necklace. To keep the budget down I bought the vest in Primark, the skirt on sale in Topshop and a pair of green ballet flats from H&M.

Kermit 1a

At this point there was just too much green so I broke up the outfit with a thick black belt (also H&M), which meant that Kermie himself was much more visible. And for the final touch, I ripped the Kermit heads off a pair of Primark slippers and sewed them onto the H&M ballet flats.

DSC04537

Kermie was a big hit at the Expo. Because his legs dangled he sort of hopped as I walked and a lot of people came up to me to say how cute he was. Including Paperman Art Director, Jeff Turley, who added him to my portrait, above, with the statement “Love the Frog!”

Necklace: nOir Jewelry | Vest: Primark | Skirt: Topshop | Belt: H&M | Shoes: H&M

One response to “Disney Style Diary: Kermit the Frog at D23 Expo

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: Make Like a Muppet in Jean Charles de Castelbajac | Maison Mouse·

Leave a Reply

